The National Film Board.—The National Film Act, 1950, provides for a Board of Goveraors of nine members—a Government Film Commissioner, appointed by the Governor in Council, who is Chairman of the Board, three members from the public service of Canada and five members from outside the public service. The Board reports to Parliament through a designated Minister of the Crown (at present the Minister of Resources and Development). The Board is responsible for advising the Governor in Council on film activities and is authorized to produce and distribute films in the national interest and, in particular, films "designed to interpret Canada to Canadians and to other nations"

For further details see Chapters VIII and XXVIII.

The National Gallery.—The National Gallery was founded in 1880. By Act of Parliament (3-4 Geo. V, c. 33) it was placed under the management of a Board of Trustees appointed by the Governor General in Council, and is responsible to Parliament through a Minister of the Crown (at present the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration). The first charge of the National Gallery is the development and care of national art collections.

Other important services are the arrangement of loans and exhibitions from abroad and from its own holdings for showing in Canada and abroad, the promotion of good industrial design, and general extension work consisting of the distribution of reproductions for educational purposes, lectures, educational tours, publications, school broadcasts and art films. See also Chapter VIII.

**Department of National Health and Welfare.**—The Department of National Health and Welfare was established in October 1944. Under the Minister of National Health and Welfare, the Department, which is composed of three branches (Health, Welfare and Administration), is administered through the Deputy Ministers of National Health and National Welfare.

The Health Branch is divided into four directorates—Health Services, Health Insurance Studies, Food and Drugs, and Indian Health Services. The Welfare Branch is made up of the Directorate of Family Allowances and Old Age Security, the Old Age Pensions Division and the Physical Fitness Division. The Department is also responsible for federal civil defence planning, with the Civil Defence Co-ordinator reporting to both Deputy Ministers. The Administration Branch includes divisions where activities cover both health and welfare fields such as research, information, legal and library services as well as administrative, personnel and purchasing and supply services.

For further details and statistics, see Chapter VI.

The Department of National Revenue.—From Confederation until May 1918, Customs and Inland Revenue Acts were administered by separate departments, and after that date were amalgamated under one Minister as the Department of Customs and Inland Revenue. In 1921 the name was changed to the Department of Customs and Excise. In April 1924, collection of income taxes was placed under the Minister of National Revenue and under the Department of National Revenue Act, 1927, the Department became known as the Department of National Revenue.

Besides the assessment and collection of customs and excise duty, taxes and revenues and other services by ports and outports, the Department is responsible for income taxes and succession duties.

The Minister of National Revenue is responsible to Parliament for the Income Tax Appeal Board and the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.

The National Museum of Canada.— The National Museum illustrates the natural history of Canada—its geology, biology and anthropology. It was formerly part of the Geological Survey which was founded in 1842 but was separated in 1920, and is now part of the Department of Resources and Development. The Museum carries out field investigations in botany, zoology, vertebrate palæontology, archæology and ethnology including studies of folk-lore and folk-songs, publishes the results of its research and carries out an extensive educational program. See also Chapter VIII.

The National Research Council.—In 1924 the Research Council Act was passed and, in 1928, laboratories for scientific research were established at Ottawa. The National Research Council now has laboratories for divisions of chemistry, building research, mechanical engineering, radio and electrical engineering, physics, applied biology and medical research, and also has workshop services. Until April 1952, the Council operated the atomic energy project at Chalk River, and its President was head of the Atomic Energy Control Board.

Processes and improvements developed by the Council are made available under licence to industry through a Crown company, Canadian Patents and Development, Limited, and any profits derived from the licensing arrangements are used for further research and development.

The Minister of Trade and Commerce, as Chairman of the Privy Council Committee on Scientific and Industrial Research, is responsible to Parliament for the National Research Council. See also Chapter VIII.